Children's Books

This page will bring the latest and best books we can find for children of all ages.  We will keep about 20 titles on this page at a time so you can visit the page regularly and see what is new in store.  The list will be a mix of picture story books, junior and teen fiction and non-fiction books.

 

PICTURE BOOKS for children of all ages

The House of Happy Spirits: A Children's Book Inspired by Friedensreich Hundertwasser by Geraldine Elschner and Lucie Vandevelde

RRP $32

In this fairy tale-like story a beloved tree is saved and children learn how architecture can co-exist with nature. The Austrian artist Friedensreich Hundertwasser believed that humanity and nature shared a harmonious partnership, a philosophy that he demonstrated with his architectural creations. Filled with colour-saturated illustrations that echo Hundertwasser's bold style, this story introduces young readers to the idea of environmentally conscious and playful architecture. When construction starts on a new building in Lea's neighbourhood, she fears that her favourite tree will be chopped down. For days she watches anxiously as the tree is covered up and surrounded by bricks. Finally, she learns that the tree has been spared and made the centerpiece of a fantastic new building, where it will live a long and healthy life. Lucie Vandevelde's joyful drawings convey a kid's-eye view of city life, complete with people, pets, automobiles, and machinery. As the new building emerges, readers will come to learn about some of Hundertwasser's celebrated and offbeat principles--such as the rights of tenants to paint the walls outside of their windows, that trees should be given their own rooms, and that "straight lines lead to the downfall of humanity.

Counting Creatures by Julia Donaldson and Sharon King-Chai

RRP $30

A fun and visually stunning interactive counting book with peep-through pages and fold-out flaps, from the bestselling Julia Donaldson, author of The Gruffalo, and award-winning illustrator Sharon King-Chai. With bright and beautiful artwork and a fabulous array of animals and their babies to marvel over, this is a gorgeous book to treasure and read over and over again by the creators of the award-winning Animalphabet. Every page draws you further into the beautifully vibrant animal kingdom with flying bats, frolicking fox cubs and jumping Arctic hares, inviting you to compare the animals to each other, explore their habitats, and learn proper animal baby names for each creature as you count. Also includes a fun spidery search-and-find game. Can you count how many kittens Leopard might have pouncing and playing in the jungle or how many tadpoles are wriggling in the pond ? Sharon King-Chai's colourful illustrations and the cleverly designed shaped pages makes Counting Creatures a rich delight, while Julia Donaldson's signature rhymes are a pleasure to read aloud.

Big Ideas for Curious Minds: An Introduction to Philosophy by The School of Life

RRP $40

Children are, in many ways, born philosophers. Without prompting, they ask some of the largest questions: about time, mortality, happiness and the meaning of it all. Yet sadly, too often, this inborn curiosity is not developed and with age the questions fall away. This is a book designed to harness childrens' spontaneous philosophical instinct and to develop it through introductions to some of the most vibrant and essential philosophical ideas of history.The book takes us to meet leading figures of philosophy from around the world and from all eras - and shows us how their ideas continue to matter. The book functions as an ideal introduction to philosophy as well as a charming way to open up conversations between adults and children about the biggest questions we all face.

What's the Point of Maths?

RRP $30

Lets children discover the secret history of everyday maths and explore the why and where of essential maths topics Incredible historical stories explore the often surprising origins of the maths we use today, from number sequences to coordinates. Crazy facts, magic tricks, and mathematical brainteasers will amuse and entertain even the most reluctant math students. Find out why an hour has 60 rather than 100 minutes and how codes keep our secrets safe. Colourful and uncluttered illustrations make mathematical explanations easy to grasp in seconds and make this user-friendly book simple to navigate and a joy to browse and read. What's the Point of Maths? is perfect for those who need some inspiration when it comes to numbers. It combines stories from history with simple visual explanations to bring maths to life. From measuring a pyramid to predicting comets, from counting like the Babylonians to becoming a trillionaire, it shows children why core maths ideas were discovered and invented and how to apply them today - in the classroom and the real world! Accompanying the fascinating stories are puzzles, games, and amazing facts, as well as a lively challenge to help bring each of the topics to life. Stylish, colourful illustrations make the maths fun and unintimidating, while simple diagrams and steps make explanations easy to grasp in seconds. Throughout the book, worked examples show readers how to solve simple maths challenges, encouraging children to improve their maths skills with hands-on practice.

JUNIOR FICTION  for children 8+

A Clock of Stars: The Shadow Moth by Francesca Gibbons

RRP $20

With all the magic of Narnia and the humour of Mary Poppins, this is a future middle grade fantasy classic - and the beginning of an unforgettable journey... Imogen should be nice to her little sister Marie. She should be nice to her mum's boyfriend too. And she certainly shouldn't follow a strange silver moth through a door in a tree.
But then... who does what they're told?

Followed by Marie, Imogen finds herself falling into a magical kingdom where the two sisters are swept up in a thrilling race against time - helped by the spoiled prince of the kingdom, a dancing bear, a very grumpy hunter... and even the stars above them.

Thrilling, sharply funny, and with characters you will fall in love with, A Clock of Stars is a timeless fantasy from an astonishing new voice.

The Grandest Bookshop in the World by Amelia Mellor

RRP $20

Pearl and Vally Cole live in a bookshop. And not just any bookshop. In 1893, Cole's Book Arcade in Melbourne is the grandest bookshop in the world, brimming with every curiosity imaginable. Each day brings fresh delights for the siblings: voice-changing sweets, talking parrots, a new story written just for them by their eccentric father.When Pearl and Vally learn that Pa has risked the Arcade - and himself - in a shocking deal with the mysterious Obscurosmith, the siblings hatch a plan. Soon they are swept into a dangerous game with impossibly high stakes: defeat seven challenges by the stroke of midnight and both the Arcade and their father will be restored. But if they fail Pearl and Vally won't just lose Pa - they'll forget that he and the Arcade ever existed.

The Unadoptables by Hana Tooke

RRP $21

The amazing humour and world-building of Nevermoor meets the wisdom and warmth of Rooftoppers in this most un-ordinary adventure about five amazing children . . . The remarkable. The extraordinary. The brave. Way back in the autumn of 1880, five babies are discovered at the Little Tulip Orphanage in most unusual circumstances. Those babies are Lotta, Egbert, Fenna, Sem and Milou. The vile matron calls the children 'the unadoptables' but this talented gang of best friends know that their individuality is what makes them so special - and so determined to stay together. When a sinister gentleman tries to get them in his clutches, the children make a daring escape across the frozen canals of Amsterdam, embarking on an adventure packed with pirate ships and puppets. But is their real home - and their real family - already closer than they realize?

Over Sea, Under Stone: The Dark is Rising sequence by Susan Cooper

RRP $18

The first thrilling book in the classic The Dark Is Rising sequence. On holiday in Cornwall, Simon, Jane and Barney Drew discover an ancient map in the attic of the Grey House, where they are staying with their mysterious Great-Uncle Merry. They know immediately that it is special. But it is much more than just a map. It is the start of a quest to find a grail, a source of great power that could contain - or resurrect - the powerful, age-old forces of evil in the world. And the Drews are not the only ones searching for it.The first thrilling book in the highly acclaimed Dark Is Rising sequence.

YOUNG ADULT NOVELS  Suitable for teen readers.  We have all the popular series in stock and several slightly different ones too.

They Both Die at the End by Adam Silvera

RRP $22

On September 5th, a little after midnight, Death-Cast calls Mateo Torrez and Rufus Emeterio to give them some bad news: they're going to die today. Mateo and Rufus are total strangers, but, for different reasons, they're both looking to make a new friend on their End Day. The good news: there's an app for that. It's called the Last Friend, and through it, Rufus and Mateo are about to meet up for one last great adventure - to live a lifetime in a single day.

Shadow and Bone: A Netflix Original Series: Book 1 by Leigh Bardugo

RRP $22

Enter the Grishaverse with book one of the Shadow and Bone Trilogy by number one New York Times-bestselling author, Leigh Bardugo. Perfect for fans of Laini Taylor and Sarah J. Maas. Soldier. Summoner. Saint. Orphaned and expendable, Alina Starkov is a soldier who knows she may not survive her first trek across the Shadow Fold - a swath of unnatural darkness crawling with monsters. But when her regiment is attacked, Alina unleashes dormant magic not even she knew she possessed. Now Alina will enter a lavish world of royalty and intrigue as she trains with the Grisha, her country's magical military elite - and falls under the spell of their notorious leader, the Darkling. He believes Alina can summon a force capable of destroying the Shadow Fold and reuniting their war-ravaged country, but only if she can master her untamed gift. As the threat to the kingdom mounts and Alina unlocks the secrets of her past, she will make a dangerous discovery that could threaten all she loves and the very future of a nation. Welcome to Ravka . . . a world of science and superstition where nothing is what it seems.

The Tattooist of Auschwitz - YA Edition by Heather Morris

RRP $28

I tattooed a number on her arm. She tattooed her name on my heart. In 1942, Lale Sokolov arrived in Auschwitz-Birkenau. He was given the job of tattooing the prisoners marked for survival - scratching numbers into his fellow victims' arms in indelible ink to create what would become one of the most potent symbols of the Holocaust. Waiting in line to be tattooed, terrified and shaking, was a young girl. For Lale - a dandy, a jack-the-lad, a bit of a chancer - it was love at first sight. And he was determined not only to survive himself, but to ensure this woman, Gita, did too. So begins one of the most life-affirming, courageous, unforgettable and human stories of the Holocaust: the love story of the tattooist of Auschwitz. This edition is edited and updated for younger readers, and also contains extra materials, including classroom discussion points, additional photos, maps and documents and other educational resources.